More practicing of the dragon


I have been drawing again. I officially have started on my dragon now. If you don’t remember when I started the drawing, you can check out this blog post: Practice limbs and head – Dragon

So this is the body so far:

Copyright © 030915 by Karen Payze

Copyright © 030915 by Karen Payze

And I have realised one of the spurs is in the wrong place. I#m also not happy with the front right leg. I think I will change that to a leg that stretches forward, in keeping with the right back. And the right back has a bad knee. I’ll fix that 😀

Here is my latest practice head:

Copyright © 030915 by Karen Payze

Copyright © 030915 by Karen Payze

I am very happy with this head and will use it for my dragon. It’s massive though, so I will have to so a bit of scaling!

And one of the wings:

Copyright © 030915 by Karen Payze

Copyright © 030915 by Karen Payze

Now I like this wing. The only adjustment will be to the half closed part where the veins need to be tighter, more overlapping to reflect a slightly closed wing. And at this angle the wing will almost lie against the flanks of my dragon and I haven’t decided if I want this or want them raised above the back but I think this way might be more fitting with the stance of the dragon.

Then it is just the background to tackle…and that could take a while, but at least I wont need to do any practicing (I hope!)

What do you think?

Let me know in the comments below!

Copyright © 030915 by Karen Payze

6 Comments

  1. Lookin good 🙂

    • Thank you, Harry 😀

  2. I like the dragon. Is this a friendly one or a ferocious one?

Leave a Reply

