Practice limbs and head – Dragon


I want to sketch a dragon, one that is earthy and solid. I have an idea in my head, I can picture the scene. I just need to practice a lot before I do it. So I’ve practiced doing a few limbs. I find feet (just like the human ones) very hard to get right. I like the last one best but instead of a flat foot I will lift it off the ground. I also like the crouching one but am undecided if I will use it. The front leg one has a problem foot as well so I will make some adjustments.

 

Copyright © 030715 by Karen Payze

Front Leg         Copyright © 030715 by Karen Payze

 

Rear Leg 1 Copyright © 030715 by Karen Payze

Rear Leg 1                       Copyright © 030715 by Karen Payze

 

Rear Leg 2  Copyright © 030715 by Karen Payze

Rear Leg 2          Copyright © 030715 by Karen Payze

 

Rear Leg 3 Copyright © 030715 by Karen Payze

Rear Leg 3          Copyright © 030715 by Karen Payze

 

I also practiced a few heads. The first two turned out rather shocking, as I described them to a friend,

“The first one looks kind of like a goat on steroids and the second like a deranged bird with a bad bite”.

So I will only post the third, which I rather like but I think looks more dinosaur than dragon and my daughter thinks it needs to look far meaner to be a dragon. So I am going to do another practice head, when I have the chance, with a more lizard-like appearance and see how that goes. Once the project is complete, I will post it onto here. In the meantime, here is my dinosaur-dragon head 🙂

Copyright © 030715 by Karen Payze

Copyright © 030715 by Karen Payze

11 Comments

  1. They’re pretty good!

    No-one knows what a dragon actually looks like, so tell the haters to shove it.

    • Ahahaha, thank you 🙂 There are no haters, just me being picky 😉 xx

  2. J.R.Barker

    I like leg three, that’s a good solid leg 🙂

    • Thank you, yes I agree 😁

  3. Hey, not bad at all! The most important thing about drawing a dragon is to make sure it doesn’t look like a duck. Believe me, that happens.

    • Thanks 😊 I’ll try to steer clear of the duck look ahahahaha 😂

  4. I like the front leg, and rear leg 3 also. Your description of the first 2 heads makes me want to SEE THEM!

    • Thank you! Ahaha, not a chance 😉 😁

  5. Hi Karen, thanks for sharing these great sketches. Congrats!

    • Thank you 😊😊

Trackbacks

  1. More practicing of the dragon | Drawing Room Days

Leave a Reply

