Out with the old, in with the new


Copyright © 120315 by Karen Payze

Copyright © 120315 by Karen Payze

 

So, I have been going through my old writings, those bits of scrap paper and half – filled books with random ramblings on them.  If you’re a writer, you’ll know what I am referring to.  I thought I would post some on my writing blog so I started with Packing Boxes, which I wrote about two or three years ago – only because that is actually a completed story (I’m so lazy 🙂 ).  I didn’t make any corrections or alterations.  I just posted it.  A fellow blogger friend’s comment made me realise that I probably should have checked the story before posting.  Now, I’m really bad at editing and rewriting my own work but I am doing my best with the novel I’m currently writing.

Then I had an idea.  I can post the original stories then do editing and a rewrite, if necessary, and post the altered stories.  I’ll do it once a week – I don’t think I can handle any more editing and rewriting than that 😉  I’ll start with Packing Boxes.  I think it will be good to fix my lackadaisical attitude to editing.  And hopefully, in the long run, will do me good when it comes to second and third drafts of my book (which are a loooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooong way off considering I’m only about a quarter of a way through writing the story!)

 

Looking at the pile of paper, I think what I find more daunting than edits and rewrites is actually trying to decipher what I have written.  I do have more ramblings on the computer but couldn’t fit them into the photo 😉

Anyway, look out for these writings and edits on 1000 words and wish me luck.  I think I am going to need it!

 

Copyright © 120315 by Karen Payze

6 Comments

  1. If I assembled all my notebooks and wildly disorganized scraps into one place, they’d fill a dozen boxes. I’ve kept everything–even revised printouts that didn’t make the final cut–and more than one complete manuscript of every novel. Sometimes when I’m looking for something else entirely, I come across those relics and find shining bits that I should have left in!

    • I haven’t even looked at any of this stuff yet. I know I have more in a box in the garage but I’m not venturing there 😉 I found something the other day that I must have written a long time ago. I don’t even remember writing it haha!

      • I have a few of those puzzlers, too. And many many sketchy plot threads that veered off in directions I decided at some point not to use…but should have. I keep stuff like that hoping it will fit into something else one day, but that’s an unproductive line of thought. It’s like shoving a foot into a too-small shoe.

        • True 😊 If it didn’t fit, there’s probably a reason why so it’s unlikely to fit into something else!

  2. This is such a great goal and a great way to do something with all of those random pieces of writing! I have seen that image, those piles of scraps of scribbles and notebooks a few too many times myself! So happy I came across your blog! Heading over to the 1000 Words blog now to check it out. Loving your writing and looking forward to reading more! 🙂

    • Thanks and thank you for following. I have checked out your blog as well. Looking forward to reading more. Karen

Leave a Reply

