A Universal truth


“It is a truth universally acknowledged that when one part of your life starts going okay, another falls spectacularly to pieces.”
Helen Fielding, Bridget Jones’s Diary

Copyright © 180314 by Karen Payze

My well-worn copy of Bridget Jones’s Diary
Copyright © 180314 by Karen Payze

I love Bridget Jones’s Diary.  So much of what she says and does, resonates with me as I am certain it does with you too.  One thing I really love about Bridget Jones is that, for all her faults, she is ALWAYS herself.

I also have a universal truth:

If you try to change who you are to suit what others think you should be, you will lose your inner happiness.

I think it must be hard when, really, you are a wonderful person but because you always want to please everyone, you find yourself constantly trying to change who you are to suit them.  And that can make you sad inside and angry on the outside. When you are who you are, you could probably be the happiest person alive!

Sound familiar?  I’ll bet you are either sitting there thinking, ‘That’s me!’ or ‘Hey, I know someone like that!’

So today’s lesson:  be who you are and anyone who doesn’t like it, well, they know what they can do…

And if you aren’t that type of person but know someone who is, especially if the person is still young, perhaps try to help them realise that it’s actually okay for them to be who they really are.  They may even thank you one day 🙂

Copyright © 180314 by Karen Payze

Enhanced by Zemanta
6 Comments

  1. Preach it, sister!

    • Will do 😉

  2. When I was younger I read self-help books to be the best I could be. I worked on myself for a long time–it just felt like a long time. My family wasn’t that supportive and I eventually gave it up and saying, “Love me for me or . . . ”
    The stupid thing is now some of my family are into the self-help books and I’m the one shaking my head. What I’m thinking is we all go through our stages. I think it helps us figure out who we are and what we want to be.
    Anna from Shout with Emaginette

    • what you say is absolutely true. We do all go through stages and changes. I think that sometimes we are so busy trying to fulfil other peoples notions of who we are that we forget to just be ourselves. Sometimes self help books can be useful but sometimes they can also be really damaging to our inner selves and our happiness 🙂 thanks for the comment xx

  3. I spent most of my life trying to be what others thought I should be. Never happy. Once I decided to be myself, even to the extent of dismissing others from my life, I was much happier!

    • yes absolutely! Sometimes you do just have to let go of the people who try to force you to change who you are 🙂 Thanks for visiting 😀

Leave a Reply

