A little bit of rock with a lot of balls


WARNING:  Contains some spoilers and possibly some offensive material (mainly if you are not a fan of Tom Cruise or Russell Brand!  Or musicals or having a sense of humour)

So I don’t usually post reviews on here – well I don’t ever do reviews.  But I thought I would make an exception in this case.  I watched a movie on sky the other night, one I have been putting off for ages because I thought it was going to be crap.  I should know better – after all the old adage that you can’t judge a book by its cover is relevant in all aspects of life, including films.  I have watched plenty of movies that have appeared to be brilliant in trailers, that have received rave reviews in IMDB and on Rotten Tomatoes and they have turned out to be rubbish.  And on the opposite end of the pole is this movie.  I am talking about Rock of Ages.  Yes it is a little old (well I watched it on Sky after all 😉 ), yes it has Tom Cruise in it (and BTW I am a fan – hard as that is for some to accept haha) and yes it has singing in it.  Not just The Blues Brothers type singing.  No I’m talking Grease, The Sound of Music, Les Miserables kind of singing.  If you have seen it, you know what I mean.  If you haven’t, well, you still should know what I mean.

And when I first started it and realised it was a musical, I groaned but I decided I would persevere with it.  There was nothing else on (is there ever on a Friday night?!) and I was too lazy to search out another movie that I haven’t seen on Sky (aside from Life of Pi which I know is on there, beckoning me to watch it.  Thus far I have resisted the temptation). And discovered that, not only does it have some great pieces of music, it’s also really funny AND has a lot of balls.  After all, it has heaps of stereotyping and I would think it would have stepped on a few toes (or ego’s).

Well, it took all of five minutes before I was laughing my head off.  The movie is brilliant!  It is so tongue-in-cheek, pokes so much fun at these stars who think so much of themselves that one cannot help but enjoy it.  Even if you don’t like Tom Cruise, rock stars or any of that scene, or if you don’t like the idea of poking fun at stars,  you still have to watch it just to see Catherine Zeta Jones make a big arse of herself doing some outrageous dance moves. It was one of her better roles, I thought.

And I could even tolerate watching Russell Brand only because of his counter-balance in the movie in the form of Alec Baldwin.  The two complimented each other so well, it made for some really funny scenes.  Alec Baldwin really did do well in what was possibly a rather challenging performance for him.

Then of course there is the indelible Tom Cruise.  But, despite what you may think, his is actually in a supporting role.  His is a background story that revolves around the idea of his character (The Rock Star) .  And he performs it brilliantly.  He IS the stereotypical rock star who thinks women fall at his feet if he looks at them (they do), jump into bed with him if he says hello (they do), thinks everyone and everything should accommodate him (they do), and wrecks everything, expecting others to accept his behaviour and fix whatever he’s wrecked (they do).  He loves himself.  He tolerates his fans.  He loathes authority of any kind. But when he gets on stage, the moment he opens his mouth, we all know why he’s a rock star.

The actual story, however is a parody of the reality of seeking out fame and fortune.  Many of us dream of one day being rich and famous (in one form or another) but for most of us, the reality of having to survive soon overrides the dream of success.  It’s really quite sad.  The movie does allow for the eventually success of the young wannabes which, in turn lifts us up, gives us hope and the drive to continue to pursue our dreams.

Overall, I thought the film was a brilliant balance of parody and reality and if you haven’t seen it yet then I must ask,

WHY NOT?!

As this is, I suppose, a review of the film, I reckon I should rate it.  So I will give it a very healthy

Gold star

Enhanced by ZemantaCopyright © 010214 by Karen Payze
4 Comments

  1. Your review is brilliant. You should do more of them.

    • Thanks 🙂 I might do 😉

  2. If I have any sense, I’ll be checking this out. Thanks for sharing the joy, life is better for it.

    Anna from Shout with Emaginette

    • Haha 🙂 Enjoy 😉

Leave a Reply

