WP tags and content suggestions missing?


This is really just a quickie.  If you’re anything like me, when writing a blog post, you would enjoy being able to tag certain words to relate to other content or add pictures you  know aren’t going to get you into copyright trouble AND you certainly would enjoy the benefits of having those wonderful tag suggestions which make your life as a blogger that little bit easier.

And then, one day, it all just went away.  I was puzzled for a time and a bit disappointed to say the least.  After all, without these added benefits, I would not be able to highlight to you non readers what a blog post is, I would not be able to click on this random picture to add to my post:

"YOUR SUGGESTIONS HELP HIM" - NARA -...

Enhanced by Zemantaand, no doubt, I would mis-tag everything instead of being able to click the little boxes suggesting these tags:

Blog, WordPress, Tools, Search engine optimization, rules, WordPress, FAQs Help and Tutorials and some other random ones I chose not to include (mostly related to my random picture).
The point is that most of us, certainly myself anyway, like things that make life a little easier.  So I went onto WP forum and loads of people  were complaining that theirs had also disappeared.  Apparently it was some new year switch over thing where the company that runs all the fantastic helping thingy’s are no longer automatically available.  A WP engineer type person wrote this:

On January 2nd, 2014 we’re removing our third-party integration with Zemanta, which added some tools like a manual related content tool, and suggestions for tags and images.

Our goal is to provide the best, most transparent, editing experience and, for a variety of reasons, felt that it was needed to develop our own tools internally. To that end, we’re working on improving our editor to incorporate some of this functionality natively within WordPress.com. Some features, like related posts, are already there.

In the meantime, we encourage you to use our own Related Posts feature, and for images, check out our list of websites that provide free images, videos, books, and other content for your blogs.

If you’d still like to use Zemanta, they offer a separate browser extension.

So if you want all your thingy’s back, click on the above link, download the extension for your browser then restart your WP and voila – it’s back!  Oh, how I do love technology.

Copyright © 080114 by Karen Payze

26 Comments

  1. J.R.Barker

    Karen, you lovely person you, I needed my extra tag thingies, although I didn’t know about the picture thingy.

    • Ah, you’re welcome 😀

      • J.R.Barker

        Although I did notice they want to keep track of all your browsing data, not sure I’m down with that. Damned cheeky if you ask me.

        • It is grrr. Actually I think everyone seems to do that now. I don’t know if you have a smart phone but if you do and you download apps from the play store or iStore, check the app permissions. You would be surprised by the amount of apps that collect your personal data. And even registering today on the UK gov jobs website states that it will use my data. It really is a damned cheek. I don’t particularly want my data to be sold to some crappy marketing company who will then harass me with nonsense email and waste-of-my-precious-time phone calls! Ah well, what can you do, I suppose its a bit of a compromise 😉

          • J.R.Barker

            I guess all you can really do is roll with it, but given the choice I think I’ll pass on voluntarily giving some massive faceless company all my browsing data. Not that I go anywhere dodgy on the net, I just don’t like being spied on.

            • indeed!

              • J.R.Barker

                it says it will have access to data on all websites and access my tabs and my browsing activity. Does that include passwords? If so WordPress has overstepped the bounds with the merger.

              • I have no idea! To me access to data and browsing activity would include things like the things you commonly browse for, probably your age, gender, preferences, things like that. It’s usually used for marketing purposes. Google does it too. Haven’t you noticed that the sidebar ads on pages like Facebook correlate with things you have searched in Google or viewed in your browser and on pages like Ebay and Amazon? They collect your information so they can sell crap to you that you don’t really need or want but because you have viewed it X number of times, they deduce that you must really want to own said item or have said service, etc 🙂 In saying that, however, I really do not know what data they can actually see. I think that if you’re really worried about it, rather don’t have it and contact WP and that company to find out what data is being collect 🙂 x

              • J.R.Barker

                I can’t find the comment anywhere on the forum, I don’t think I have the hang of it.

              • Here is the original thread with someone asking about it: http://en.forums.wordpress.com/topic/zemanta-related-links-is-gone?replies=6#post-1588503

                and here is the link to the WP official forum comment: http://en.forums.wordpress.com/topic/removing-zemanta-integration?replies=1
                The thread for the WP comment is closed but you could always start a new thread or you can try contacting them here: http://en.support.wordpress.com/contact/ Hope this helps x

              • J.R.Barker

                Thanks Karen, I think I’ll just trust to my own adding of tags from now on though, Just cause I’m paranoid 🙂

              • cool 🙂

        • No-one or company has access to your password except wordpress

          • Yes, thats what I would have thought too otherwise no ones passwords for anything would be safe 😀

  2. I can honestly say that I haven’t noticed any difference anywhere for this.

    I guess I didn’t ever use it!

    • Ha! Lucky you 😉

  3. Hi Karen, I never used Zemanta or even the suggested tags on the dashboard because they don’t relate to the post.
    All the tags should relate to the post and you should have no more than about ten.
    The only thing the companies keep are your data and browsing activity

    • Thanks Harry 🙂 I like my suggested tags and thingy’s and use them all the time, was lost without them 😉

      • As long as your happy that’s the main thing 🙂

        • I’m always happy, Harry (well I try anyway) hehe xx

  4. I stop using tags a while back. Someone told me that too many would get me ‘tagged’ as a spammer. That’s all it took for me to stop using them.

    Anna from Shout with Emaginette

    • Ah but u must have some tags for each post or no search engines will find it 🙂

      • Good Point!

        • 😉

        • emaginette, 9 / 10 should be the limit for the search engines as Karen says, I have seen blogs with 15 / 20 that no good.

          • Yes, sometimes I can go over the top with them 🙂 but I do usually try to stick to 10 or so 😉

Leave a Reply

