Uncomfortable writing


As you know from several previous posts, I am trying to be a more serious writer and, although I have been very busy lately and the stream of blog posts has dried to a trickle, I am still writing.  Specifically, I am hard at work on another book.  So with the little time I have on my hands these days, I find I am torn between blog writing, poetry and writing my novel.  There aren’t enough hours in the day to do them all so most of my attention goes to my book.  And if I start working, which (hold thumbs and cross fingers and toes) I will be doing soon, I will have even less time to devote to my writing.

So I thought I would try my hand at some serious writing before going ahead with the ‘job that pays the bills’ and see if it pans out.  I decided to turn my talents to article writing for money.  I figured the best place to start would be  where  they don’t require a degree to make a post( In journalism – I do have a degree!).  I went for yahoo articles.  And I can say that unless I get a really ‘easy’ topic, I probably won’t be doing it again.

It seems that yahoo attracts some real nasties (well, I think I already knew that as I have read, on occasion, some yahoo articles and seen the comments that follow).  My family and friends all said to me that I must not read the comments (which I did anyway) and the negative comments are actually about the content although one person thought fit to attack me personally for it.  What these people don’t realise is that the writers do not necessarily choose their topics.  They are offered topic choices (assignments) and they choose to complete  them (or not) depending on their personal experience.  And actually I got off lightly compared to some of the other writers.  One poor woman got some really horrible feedback that personally attacked her and she probably feels the same way I do (or not who knows).

Of the four I was offered (yes such a large choice isn’t it) there was only one to which I could relate.  And so I wrote about it.  I read and re-read it, edited, checked and double checked and read it to others (who all thought it was good) before, with pounding heart, I published it.  The result was some good comments and some negative comments and a total of 2,644 page views in two days – which is actually quite a lot.

With that many hits, you are probably wondering why I said I wouldn’t do it again.  Well, the reason is not actually because of the nasties even though, as some of you already know, I don’t cope very well with nasty people, it’s actually the nerve-wracking, tight knot feeling in the pit of my stomach.  And that is from wondering what everyone else thinks.  Silly, right, wondering what 2000 plus people thought about my 700 word article when I write posts on here and don’t ever really worry what people think.  I have decided that the reason for my strange awkwardness is because it is such a different platform.  On here, people know me, what I write about and how I write and they accept it whereas on yahoo, I am just another one of ‘those’ writers.  And I think I am probably not ready for that.

Thinking about this makes me wonder if I am actually ready to put myself out there through another book or, indeed if I will ever be ready.  I think I will be when the time comes but for now I will stick to my blogging as I am comfortable doing it.  Any other writers out there who feel the same?  Have you tried writing something that places you out of your comfort zone?  How did you cope with it, how did you feel?  I appreciate any thoughts 🙂

Copyright © 300913 by Karen Payze

8 Comments

  1. “What…ME worry ???”…It appears that you are no dummy, you have mastered the rudiments of the American language and you are capable of having a thought. Pray for the mean and nasty, their jealousy of your talents should not affect you in any way but to bolster your ego, having the conviction that they understood what you wrote. According to their unimaginative thinking, since they have no creativity of their own, taking umbrage of your opinions is the only way they can achieve any self-esteem. Write on my dear friend,
    satisfy your own desire to be creative.
    Love, hugs and blessings…ME and the Boss

    • Thank you so much! You are very kind, hugs to you too xx

  2. P.S. Never take yourself too seriously….

    laugh, love and enjoy the moment…ME

    • I will try 🙂

  3. As someone who has done both blogging and writing books for just over two years now, I fully understand what you mean about the pit in your stomach thing. And I have to say, by and large it’s something you develop a resistance to. You also have to consider exactly where you are publishing/posting as well.

    On a place like Yahoo you’re pretty much guaranteed to have people posting negative nonsense, no matter what you write about. Most of the time it’s kids or disaffected adults. I remember what the comments on YouTube used to be like before Google cleaned them up… it didn’t matter what the video was about, there would be hordes of idiots going on about the Jews taking over the world. They do it because they can.

    Publishing a book is slightly different as, assuming you’ll be going down the self-publishing route, your audience is going to be minuscule with trolls more or less non-existent. But bear in mind that no matter how good a book is, not everyone will like it and so you have to be prepared for negative reviews.

    Although I’ve developed a thicker skin, it can still sting when someone criticises my work and it’s impossible to be 100% rational about it. I’ve had glowing 5-star reviews where a minor critique made me wince, whilst a ranting 1-star review had me roaring with laughter.

    However, all that assumes that you get it finished. If you enjoy the actual process of putting a story together, then just concentrate on that side of things for now and worry about reviews and feedback later. Take it one step at a time.

    • Thank you very much for your words of wisdom xx I do hope that the more I write, the tougher I’ll get 🙂 I love writing and I guess ill have to stop taking things to heart so much if I want to carry on!

      • You should consider writing more articles for the Yahoo site. It’s good practice and you’ll learn some self-confidence.

        • hmmm, maybe, I’ll see what comes up 😀

Leave a Reply

