And sow it begins


As some of you may already know, I have a very small garden out the back of my garden flat.  It is mostly paved but I have been able to get a few things growing in a small rockery garden and a small bed off to the side.  I have always loved gardening but it is so difficult in such a small space.  Coming from South Africa, I have always been used to big outdoor spaces with lots of room to grow whatever took my fancy 🙂  So I put my name down for an allotment.  And I am pleased to say I acquired one yesterday.  It’s a bit overgrown in places, a bit hard, dry and bare in others and a bit anthill-y in the rest!  But it certainly has potential.  And, with a lot of hard work, I daresay I will triumph!

Copyright © 010813 by Karen Payze

Copyright © 230813 by Karen Payze

Copyright © 010813 by Karen Payze

Copyright © 230813 by Karen Payze

The big question now is:  what to plant?  After all, it is nearing the end of the season for all the really good veggies…or is it?

Well, I did a bit of research and came up with a list of things I can still grow:

  1. Turnips
  2. cabbage
  3. radishes
  4. certain type of spinach
  5. some of the hardier potatoes

Not bad pickings if I say so myself!

Of course I also have my stuff in my window pots to transplant which include my runner beans  and some other veggies which I can’t even remember what it was but I will still plant them.  I have managed to clear a fairly decent patch so I can at least get those into the ground!  But I will have to do something about those ants! – I have now ‘taken care’ of the ants and have planted a row of runner beans 🙂

  • I also wanted to see what plants are good for keeping unwanted veggie-eating pests away and have discovered that :
  • I must plant parsley, fennel, mint which draw predators to aphids but also deter aphids (as in the case of the mint),
  • I must place crushed eggshells under vulnerable plants to deter slugs,
  • I must plant lemongrass (if you even get that here!) to keep mosquitoes at bay and verbena to attract predatory insects.
  • soapy water is, of course, good for ridding ones’ stuff of nuisance aphids :). 

I also have to get some more gardening implements.  I have a large fork, which is great and a small fork – also great.  I have a small spade which bends quite easily and a watering can.  I still need:

  1. a small shed
  2. a large spade – actually now have the spade YAY!!
  3. a hoe
  4. a small spade that does not bend quite so easily Have that too YAY!!
  5. a hose pipe and attachments – Even have this YIPPY!!
  6. a seed planting thingy
  7. lots of compost , although I do currently have a compost bin – I think it may take some time to fill it!
  8. something to make borders – I am very territorial 😀
  9. small table and chairs

I have decided to add a category to my list:  Gardening.  This post and other posts about my gardening efforts in my allotment will be posted under this category.  So if you enjoy doing gardening like I do or would like to start gardening, you are welcome to make suggestions in the comments.  If you are a gardening Fundy and would like to make a guest post, you are welcome to contact me and we can arrange for you to do that!

I created this sort of long-term plan for my allotment: http://www.growveg.com/garden-plan.aspx?p=447167  As you can see, most of the plants should have already been planted by now but you do get some late varieties.  Otherwise, can continue with the plans from next year 😉

In the meantime – Happy Gardening!

PS:  And as you can see from the above pictures, I have now started in earnest with the clearing of the plot.  Getting there slowly!

Copyright © 230813 by Karen Payze

7 Comments

  1. stevehi

    Wishing you green thumbs ! 🙂

    • Thank you very much x

  2. Good grief, I had no idea that an allotment could be so complicated. No wonder my granddad always looked so tired all the time.

    I recommend digging a trench and setting up a ring of fire to mark out your territory. Not only will it keep burglars at bay, it’ll stop any ants migrating towards your cabbages as well. The petrol will be expensive, but hey! You can’t put a price on security.

    Good luck with your endeavour, I imagine it’ll be fun for the wee children as well.

    • Thanks yes it can get complicated, unless you’re a seasoned grower 😉 and good for the wee child 😛

  3. Edging with marigolds will mark your territory and attract bugs away from veggies, etc. I’ve also heard that little saucers of beer attract and kill slugs. You forgot to get markers or sticks for when you plant seeds and string to mark the row so you remember where it is until they begin to grow. You’ve got a great hobby, and next year I’d like to see a picture of it in full bloom (so to speak). 🙂

    • Yes, I’ve heard the same about marigolds 🙂 oh I do have markers, my lovely sister gave them as a ‘garden warming’ pressie 🙂 will try do some regular updates on the gardening front! Thanks for your comment x

Trackbacks

  1. Veggie Might – oh what a pickle! | Drawing Room Days

Leave a Reply

