1000 Words


blah pic

I have started a new blog.  Below is the first post and about page.  Please do visit and follow !

Sometimes I really struggle to sit down and write something that is worthy of being read. As I really want to write, I have decided to get serious about writing, which is why I have created this blog. I have another blog, Drawing Room Days which is used to write posts about me, myself and I but I have decided that I need a blog to focus on my writing.

Why 1,000 words? Well, I remember writing hundreds of essays in school, college and university. I also remember many of the essays in school had the requirements of 1,000 words (write a one thousand word essay on…sounds familiar, right!). I was thinking about this recently. If your average small novel or novella is 80,000 words then, in reality, I have most probably written the equivalent of several novels or novella’s. After all, an 80,000 word novel consists of 80 one thousand word essays. Okay, I know it is not as straightforward as that. It is easy to write 1,000 words on a topic, a lot harder to write 80,000 words on a topic.

I do think, however, that writing loads of 1,000 word essays will not only get me right into writing but will broaden my writing as well as hone my skills so that when I do finally finish my second novel,hopefully it will be a brilliant one!

Now I am not delusional. I know I cannot write continuously. My life and my family do not allow for that. But I would like to write on a more regular basis. Wednesdays are my novel-writing days so it is highly unlikely that you would see a post from me on a Wednesday. School holidays and weekends mean less writing for me. But as I am determined to make a real go of this, I am going to try to write at least once a week. So look out for new, regular posts. Of course I will still be writing on my original blog, but it won’t include story writing as that will all be here. All my poetry will also be posted on this blog from now on 🙂

Of course you would need the link to get there.  Here it is: http://1000wordessays.wordpress.com/

Enjoy!

11 Comments

  1. Karen….how do I get to your other blog?

    • Oh, haha that would help 😀

    • will do a quick edit on the page!

  2. All sorted now 🙂

  3. Will follow when I can. I’ve noticed that the Rate This block on this page sometimes doesn’t come in for me, so I’ll just say, go for it! but don’t spread yourself too thin. I love reading your posts here.

    • Thanks! I will, of course, always post here. The other blog will be pure story-type writing pieces and poems, no personal posts 🙂 I will check on the settings for the ratings thing x

      • Right, the only thing I could do with the rating was move it to the top of the page but it does say it’s on for all posts. Maybe this will make a difference – you never know 😀

  4. Really a good determination. Certainly go through this blog and give enthusiastic suggestions or say comments. ALL THE BEST.

    • Thank you very much 🙂 I am actually looking forward to the challenge of it!

  5. Good post 😀

    • Thanks 😀

Leave a Reply

