Online window shopaholic


I recently decided my daughter’s room requires a makeover.  I wanted to replace the two single beds in her room and countless other bits of furniture with a few good useful pieces.  I thought it would be best to look for a high sleeper bed as this would make more space in the room.  I started looking, tentatively, about two months ago and was rather surprised to discover just how difficult it is to find second-hand high sleepers.  they are few and far between and seem to be prizes pieces as the moment they come up, hoards of people clamour to get them (myself included).  Now if you have ever decided to makeover a room and are anything like me, you will have a clear picture in your mind of what the end product should look like and you won’t be agreeable to compromising on that vision!  Which meant that I passed on countless mid sleepers and cabin beds as well as metal high sleepers (I like the wooden ones :)).  Frustrated (and yes, when I decide to do something it must be done NOW!), I turned to alternative selling sites and discovered Facebook has a buying and selling site in my area.  Fantastic!

Now this Facebook site has its advantages and its disadvantages.

Advantages:

  • Easy to find just about anything you want;

  • In your local area;

  • Fast deals made;

  • Easy to arrange collections;

  • Closed group so fairly well controlled

  • Meet some really friendly, polite people.

Disadvantages:

  • There are some people who sit on the site all day every day and grab the good deals before you have has a chance to open the page;

  • As a seller, those people mentioned above, can frustrate the hell out of you because they will delay and waste your time and, inevitably, will pass on the item or not bother to show up to collect it;

  • Some people can be very rude;

  • If there is a lot of interest on something, it can get a bit confusing as to who is next in line.

Now, despite the disadvantages of the site, I must say, I have found it a lot easier to get the items I wanted for my daughter’s room and at the same time was able to sell off the clutter 🙂  And it all happened FAST, which suits me perfectly.  If it wasn’t for that site, I would probably still be in the same position I was months ago – looking for a high sleeper.

The only thing I really have found with this site is that it seems to have brought out my shopaholic side.  Now I am not a conventional shopaholic as I know I am on a budget and I won’t run around buying things for the sake of buying and blowing the budget.  I know this is a very serious problem and I am certainly not making light of it but I do have to wonder if there is such a thing as a window shopaholic and, in my case, an online window shopaholic.  Yes it does not cost me the earth but it does cost me time.  I find myself trawling the pages as often as I can looking at new items, following the ones I like to see how quickly the go, thinking how wonderful that …(whatever it may be)is and how good it would look in the lounge, bedroom, bathroom, how useful it would be in kitchen, or just how perfectly it would suit me (yes they do the clothes as well).  I know there are plenty of people out there who would poo poo buying things second-hand, I am not one of them.  In fact, I am glad there are people out there like that because they often end up being the ones who sell their stuff off cheap, just to get rid of it 😀

Anyway, I better get back to it – looking at changing my bedroom now 😉  Happy window shopping!

Copyright © 110313 by Karen Payze

6 Comments

  1. Ladies love a makeover.
    Ladies love a bargain.
    Ladies love Facebook.

    ‘aholic ahoy!

    • Well done haha 😉

  2. Michael, you are so right. If I had the $$ I’d make over my whole house. I don’t dare start on internet sale sites, though, since I already spend far too much time online, or at least on the computer, doing 100 different things. My husband sent me a link to a postcard site–not even a buy-and-sell, but a university collection–and I am resisting looking at everything. Spent about 4 hours yesterday on Morguefile, looking at ONE person’s fantastic photos.

    • I love to dream about making over everything 🙂 And yes, during the day when I am on my own, I can also get absorbed into things I’ve Googled 😀

  3. Sounds like you have your hands full. Good luck. 🙂

    • haha indeed – no time for chatting 😉

Leave a Reply

