Real Housewives…really?


I have become involved in watching a US show here on TV called The Real Housewives of New York City.

I was never interested in the show before, in fact I don’t enjoy reality shows generally because they are more put-on than the fake ones ๐Ÿ™‚ย  Then someone put me on to this show to watch for a laugh – you know to see how ‘the other half live’.ย  Well I can say with absolute confidence, if that is how they live, I really don’t want to be them.ย  Don’t get me wrong.ย  I am not saying I wouldn’t enjoy the high life but I certainly wouldn’t cope with all the pretentious bullshit that goes with it.

As an example of the amount of STUFF that happens in the lives of these women, I missed it for a week (because my daughter was on her half term break).ย  I didn’t think much of missing it because I thought the only thing I would miss out on are a load of parties and cat fights.ย  Not much really.ย  Now the show is on everyday, back to back double episodes.ย  So, after one week of missing the show, this is what I actually missed out on:

Two of the closest friends on the show, Jill and Bethany, had some huge fight and are no longer friends – at all…or maybe they will work it out who knows.

  • The one they call the countess, LuAnn (because she’s married to the guy whose grandfather, or great-grandfather or something was the one who took the statue of Liberty to the US, apparently) is DIVORCED.ย  Not only that, but she’s on the prowl as well.ย  Oh, and looking for a new home.
  • Alex and her husband Simon, who no one ever liked before, are now on the ‘friends’ list…he’s still strange.

  • The crazy eyed one, Ramona, is even crazier than before and has going from flogging some line of youth enhancing creams to, I think, a clothing line.

  • There’s a new housewife, Sonja, (although I don’t know how you can call her a housewife because she’s a single mum)

  • And Bethany is pregnant…

It’s not reality TV.ย  Is a soap opera.ย  Probably the funniest one I have ever seen.ย  These women are so busy all the time, I don’t know how they cope between the catfights, exclusive parties, raising funds for charity and of course the shopping.ย  Can these women shop!!!ย  Three thousand dollar dresses for nothing (and that’s what they call a low market dress), twelve, fifteen, twenty thousand dollar jewellery.ย  And then they have these charity events to raise money for people who have no homes, no clothes, nothing.ย  And they feel good that they raised this money.ย  Now I am not bashing them for their efforts.ย  I know some of them (like Jill and Bethany) have money because they worked damned hard to get it and they deserve to have their luxuries.ย  But really, they live in a different world.ย  As far as reality is concerned, they wouldn’t know it if it bit them on the bum – they’re clueless!
Anyway, gotta go watch my show now ๐Ÿ™‚

Copyrightย  ยฉ 061112 by Karen Payze

8 Comments

  1. Shows like that make me cringe, and make me want to throw poo at the TV.

    • Haha I would like to see that ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Mace me smile! Enjoy ๐Ÿ™‚

    Christine

    • Thanks ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Well, I appreciated your thoughts. Reality is not for me. Wait a minute–that’s not right. hehehe

    • Haha I try to stay away from reality myself ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. Karen, you are the first to see and comment, what do you think of the new front page.

    • Hi Harry,

      I think it looks great! So much better to see a variety of poems on one page. I really like it ๐Ÿ™‚ Will post this on poets corner as well ! thanks ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

