Passing on the Memories


Passing on the Memories

 

Dirty and forgotten

I lie here forlornly

No one notices

No one cares.

 

They are too busy

Busy with their own lives

Talking and laughing

And walking past me.

 

Then she
looks down

And looks again

She stoops and picks me up

I am saved!

 

She smiles nostalgically

As she brushes off the cobwebs

Of years under the bed

 

Newly discovered

Yet as old as my owner

Who looks down at me now.

 

She hugs me tight

And giggles a little

At her own memories

I suppose.

 

She takes me to another place

And there I see her

The young one

On the edge of her bed

Fresh tears on her cheeks

In her hand

A Broken memory

Still, lifeless.

 

I am passed on

And my blank eyes stare up into hers

Which sparkle with joy.

 

I am home!

Copyright  © 011112 by Karen Payze

This poem is also published on Poet’s corner

4 Comments

  1. Oh this is lovely! I saw it on Poets Corner but commenting here because i wanted to visit your blog:)

    It is said that a poem is what it says to the reader)
    This one says “teddy” to me 🙂

    Christine

    • Thanks! I am so glad you like it 🙂

  2. Beautiful! I’m also a new follower!

    • Thanks! Have followed back 🙂

Leave a comment