Nostalgia


I have been feeling rather nostalgic lately (not certain why) and so when I put on a video for my daughter the other day, a flood of nostalgia came rushing through my veins.  The movie in question was 101 Dalmatians.  This movie, originally released in 1961 (yes the animated version), is of course older than I am but I do remember watching it as a child.  I loved the movie and my daughter loves it too (she also has the book and loves reading that as well!) .

It made me think of other animated movies that transcend time and are still be enjoyable for youngsters and the young at heart many years after their release.  I have several such movies amongst my collection, which include Cinderella (1950), Sleeping Beauty (1959), The Rescuers (1977) and more recent but still older movies the likes of My Little Pony: The movie(1986), The little Mermaid (1989), Beauty And The Beast (1991), Aladdin (1992), Mulan (1998), The Prince of Egypt (1998) and many more.  My daughter has enjoyed watching them all.

This lead me to wonder what movies, if any,have been made recently that will become ‘timeless‘ as many of these older ones are.  Now I know that certain CGI movies like Avatar will most certainly become timeless (in the same vein as E.T) but not exactly a movie for a young youngster 🙂 So I have had to think which recently made movies my daughter has watched over and over again (a sure sign that it is an enjoyable movie) that will become timeless classics. Not surprising (to me anyway) is Horton Hears a Who (2008) which she has watched hundreds of times, All of the Ice Age Movies (even though the first one was before her time, released in 2002), Madagascar (2005) and it’s follow-on’s, Tinkerbell (2008) and Tangled (2010) which she loves!  I know there are a load of movies coming up which have definite potential (Brave is promising) and over the years there will, of course, be others :).

Photo of my DVD Cover
Copyrighted to Karen Payze

Now there are many other movies that I would personally say could become classics (Monsters, Inc, Flushed Away and Ratatouille spring to mind) but that’s just me and, although my daughter enjoyed these movies, she was not particularly enamoured with them.  Same with the Shrek movies.  She laughed hysterically at Shrek 1 but when I asked her another time if she wanted to watch it again (I think it had started on TV) she was not interested!

There are also other movies that she has watched numerous times but somehow I get the feeling that these will not become eventual classics and include such titles as Barbie (all the many varieties that have been released) – the doll is a classic, her movies sadly are not and the follow-up My Little Pony movies.  My daughter has a million (slight exaggeration) My little Pony toys and accessories.  She absolutely loves them.  she loves the movies (old and new) and she loves the many series’ that were made for TV but they just don’t rate that high as becoming classics (perhaps the lack of real, in-depth, story lines with personality could be a contributing factor).

Anyway I know full well that my daughter is not the overseer of future classics and all children have their own ideas on what constitutes a good animated movie  – many loved the Toy Story series.  Personally I thought they were a load of rubbish and thankfully my daughter did not take any particular interest in them!  In my household, I would say a few of the above mentioned ones will become our own timeless classics (and I daresay, my own childhood classics will be on that list – truly timeless 🙂 )

Do you have any animated movies that are classics in your household?  Let me know below!

Copyright  © 170812 by Karen Payze

4 Comments

  1. Loved Lady and the Tramp and Bambi most of all.

    • Oh, I don’t know how I forgot Lady and the Tramp! My daughter loves that movie, as did I. 🙂

  2. I thought Shrek 2 was far funnier than the first one.

    To be honest, I can’t bear watching any of the Disney films that have songs. They drove me mad as a kid, and they drive me mad now.

    Yes, I’m a miserable sod.

    • Haha, yes you are! I liked all the Shrek films 😛

Leave a Reply

