One lovely blog award


A very big thank you to Linda of the blog: Woman on the edge of reality

for this lovely award.  I feel really honoured.  She has nominated me my poetry and I feel therefore, that I have to live up to this award by adding another piece of poetry.  Below that, you will find my own nominations for this award 🙂 Enjoy!

Race through my heart

Slow and steady

One two, one two

A little faster now

One two, one two

One two, one two

And faster still

One Two Three Four

 

A streak of black

flashes past my face

A blast of wind

whips off my hat

I don’t notice

as it swirls around

upon the ground

Nipping at my ankles

before heading off

to the wilderness beyond

 

My gaze is fixed

I am mesmerised

by the beauty

before my eyes

The smooth silky blackness

The strong pounding thighs

The head cocked to one side

 

A pause

Raw umber eyes

drill a hole

through my soul

 

A snort

A shake of the head

A thunderous thumping

and he is gone

A brief glimpse

is all I am allotted

 

Goodbye

My sweet stallion

Goodbye

I am not going to go through the list of sharing things about me as I share things about myself on my blog all the time (some incentive for you to come back, you see 🙂 )

Now I think that because I was nominated for my poetry, I will do the same for some of my fellow bloggers out there.

  1. Harry, of course, for starting Poet’s corner and inviting me to join, also a very accomplished poet himself!;
  2. The lovely Celeste of the blog celestalluvial;
  3. The wonderful Devina of the blog Hot Chocolate and Books;
  4. Bee, the creator of Berry flavored Dreams blog, whose heart is filled to the brim with poetry;
  5. Joelly, whose blog is Alphabet Soup Miniscule and whose poems are truly inspiring!
  6. And Cordelia of Lone Wolf Poetry whose poetry I find to be haunting – you know spine tingling, gut wrenching kind of stuff – I love it;

Now I know there are many other poets both of Poetry Corner and other blogs who I have not mentioned.  I admire each and every poet I come across.  I always feel that poetry can only be written when it contains a personal emotion or attachment.  I know for myself how hard it is to express my inner emotions.  So this offering is for all poets out there, really 🙂

For the nominees, here are the rules but I’m not the blogging police, so really, use it in a way that expresses you for yourself 🙂

  1. Thank the person who nominates you (that’s me by the way!)
  2. Share 7 things about yourself that others may not know
  3. Nominate other bloggers
  4. Notify the nominees that you have nominated them
  5. Put the logo of the award on your website.

Right, now I hope you are all feeling inspired enough to write some more fantastic poetry! x

Oh, and as always, this poem is also found on Poet’s Corner!

Copyright  © 010812 by Karen Payze

12 Comments

  1. Thank you for thinking of me for this award-much appreciated~Joelly

    • You’re welcome 🙂

  2. A jolly nice poem, that! I was nominated by Linda as well, actually, so it’s good to see I was in illustrious company.

    South Africa aren’t doing too badly on the gold medal front so far, either…

    • Thanks 😛

      I know, happy to hear you’re still watching it 😀

  3. Congratulations! You’re a joy to read, and nice to know through your writings. And generous, to boot! : )

    • Thanks! – and you’re very kind and helpful. I am certainly glad we have ‘met’ 😀

  4. Thank you Karen for the award, i’ll make an awards page for it on Poets Corner.

    Always on the look out for more poets 🙂

    • You’re welcome 😀

  5. Congrats and Thank you so much Karen!

    • You are welcome 😀

  6. Hi Karen, I have just been nominated for the One Lovely Blog Award and wanted to find out more about it. Your blog came up. Congratulations on winning yours and many thanks for posting the info about the award. Can see there is much to discover on your site. Best wishes, Robert

    • Hi Robert,

      Thanks for visiting 🙂 and congrats on your award!

Leave a Reply

