Sweet or Savoury?


Which one are you? 

Personally, I prefer savoury.  Although you most probably would not think that considering past posts focusing on sweet desserts, cakes and chocolates :).  There is a time and a place for everything.

It is well-known that chocolates give you a natural high, hence the old adage of eating a box of chocolates to mend that broken heart!  Though that certainly does not mean you should go out and eat anything and everything sweet you can find when you are feeling low.  There are ongoing studies into the benefits of chocolate but the benefits come from the cacao itself, NOT the various sugars that have been added to make it sweet.  In fact, these professionals suggest that to get the most benefit from chocolate, you should eat dark chocolate consisting of a minimum of 35 % cacao and preferably bittersweet (ie. reduced sugar content).  This chocolate is said to have numerous benefits from boosting  serotonin levels to reducing the risk of heart and vascular disease.  Now the research is ongoing and the researchers are constantly changing their minds.  However, I like the idea of chocolate being good for me so I am going to grab that notion with both hands and hang to it for dear life! πŸ˜€

I could actually do a post consisting entirely of chocolate facts and fiction (and maybe I will) but this post is about sweet or savoury and, as I have already mentioned, my preference is savoury.  Why savoury, then?  Probably because there is a limit to the amount of sweet stuff I can eat.  This limit varies greatly depending on the mood I am in at the time but generally I know I have had enough when I start to get that burning sensation in the back of my throat and tongue which tells me that the acidic content within the refined sugar used in the sweets is starting to take its toll.  That’s when I stop πŸ™‚  But I actually do not eat sweets all day everyday (even though it may sound that way).  Actually, I only eat sweet stuff maybe twice a week, which is probably why I have a tendency to go overboard when I do have it – you know addiction and cravings and all that stuff!

I actually like the taste of savoury foods.  The use of herbs and spices can make all the difference in a savoury dish.  Now I am not a big fan of pepper however there are certain instances where the use of pepper is quite welcome, like making a savoury mince dish.  Pepper is very useful for really bringing out the flavour of red meat.   That said, I don’t actually want to taste pepper.  Sometimes the manufacturers of hamburger patty‘s, for example, will load the patty with pepper and I simply cannot eat it.  If I wasn’t so pushed for time in my life, I would probably make more of my own patty’s.  I always say homemade is best πŸ™‚

One of my favourite savoury snacks are bread sticks.  And yes, I do buy my bread sticks.  I have made my own bread sticks in the past but they are fiddly and time-consuming.  These days I would only make them on a very special occasion.  It’s far easier to nip to the shop and buy them.  Actually, Sainsbury’s has a wonderful selection of bread sticks.  I have always enjoyed the mini bread sticks you get in a tube.  They make a wonderful midday snack and I fill up on them very quickly so don’t have to eat loads to satisfy my cravings πŸ™‚


More recently I have discovered Sainsbury’s GruyΓ¨re Cheese Twists.  These are packed with flavour and certainly very cheesy.  Yum!

Now I enjoy savoury dishes, not only as snacks ;), but also as a meal for lunch or dinner.  In particular, I thoroughly enjoy Quiche.  I know that this particular dish is not for everyone as it is primarily made of eggs and cheese and there are many people who do not like those particular ingredients or, for a variety of reasons, cannot eat said ingredients.  But for those of you who can and want to, eat an eggy, cheesy dish, I would certainly suggest a Quiche (if you haven’t already had one).  Now, as lovely as a plain Quiche is, I like my Quiche to have extras – like bacon bits and/or tomatoes.  I am, of course, referring to Quiche Lorraine.

I personally cannot stand any dish, whether it be a tart, pie, whatever, that is overloaded with pastry.  Especially if the pastry has been made with a heavy hand.  Pastry is supposed to be supportive of, and complimentary to, a dish in which it is required.  Therefore, the last thing you want is for the entire dish to taste, essentially, of flour and water πŸ™‚  To avoid this, the pastry should be as thin, light and unobtrusive as possible.  What you want to taste in a savoury dish are all the elements that make up the dish.  The main elements of Quiche Lorraine are eggs, cheese and bacon (and I like to add chopped tomatoes).  This is what you want to taste when eating the dish.  The herbs, salt and pepper should be added to enhance the main flavours but not overwhelm them.  So, although the dish needs to be well-seasoned, please don’t overdo it!

Below is a recipe for Ultimate Quiche Lorraine on BBC Good Food.

Ultimate Quiche Lorraine recipe – Recipes – BBC Good Food.

So, which one wins for you?  Sweet or savoury? 

Let me know below:

Copyright Β© 280612 by Karen Payze

6 Comments

  1. You certainly know all about pastry. Was this knowledge something you were born with, or did you learn it from your Geordie friend?

    I prefer savoury myself actually. You can’t beat a good packet of cheese and onion crisps.

    • I would say its something I was born with, along with good balancing skills and a great sense of humour πŸ˜€

  2. Well, I’m not sweet. Great post. πŸ™‚

    • Haha! Thanks πŸ™‚ have a lovely day!

  3. Yeah! I voted with the majority for a change! lol

    • Cool πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

