Happy Official Birthday to the Queen 16 June 2012


We decided that it would be a great idea to go to London on Saturday to see  Queen Elizabeth II during the annual Trooping the Colour and to celebrate her official birthday.

It wasn’t the best of days, a bit cold and windy but overall not too bad.  At least it did not rain 🙂  We stood along The Mall, lining up with the rest of the eager faces to catch a glimpse of the passing parade.  I was really amazed by the camaraderie and friendliness of all the people standing there.  Our timing was perfect as we arrived about fifteen minutes before the queen was due to go down the Mall (this would be the return journey to the palace) and managed to find a place where there were only two layers of people in front of us and, in particular, two short people in front of me which is necessary for me if I am to see anything!  My husband hoisted my daughter on to his shoulders and she did the video for me.  I have posted the video below the pictures but I have to forewarn you that it is quite long.  The Queens carriage goes past about halfway through the video, if that helps 🙂

So without further adieu, here are the photographs and video of our day.

As I am unable to upload the video here, I have uploaded it to YouTube.  Here is the link: http://youtu.be/0L9XGs-xt6g

I have now managed to embed it here:

Hope you enjoyed looking at the pictures and viewing the video.

And for the Queen – I hope she has many more birthdays to come 🙂

Copyright  © 180612 by Karen Payze – This copyright includes all the above pictures and video.

9 Comments

  1. You lucky girl and family, i wish i was there. Btw there’s three or four photos not working.

    • oh dear. I’ll check them out. Had enormous problems uploading them. they were going all over the place. Yes, we were very lucky and had a wonderful day 😀

    • I checked them and they are all working for me. Can you tell me which ones aren’t working for you? The 3 with the Queen are full size. I did not want to reduce their size as it would reduce the quality and those are the most important ones but perhaps they are the ones that aren’t loading for you as they are large pictures and may take some time to load. Let me know x

  2. 11 and 13 are out of line, they are great when you click and enlarge them.

    • Ok I did that on purpose. Do you think it would be better to do them all underneath?

      • It matters not, on a site i lost i they were left, centre, right, just to make it different.
        I just thought you did’nt know 🙂

        • Oh haha 😀 Thanks x

  3. Out of line didn’t bother me (on my site, I intentionally stagger photos to make them more eye-catching). You really did have a great spot! Nice shots. Haven’t looked at the video yet, but will.
    BTW, did you try to EMBED the YouTube code here? You might be able to do that, though the link is sufficient.

    • Hi I haven’t tried that but I will see if it works. Thanks for the tip 🙂 and the comment

Leave a Reply

