#25 Not being late for something (anything)


Which is actually rather hard for me ha ha!

Now, I generally don’t like to lay blame at the door of genetics or fate or any such thing that means it is out of my own control but in this case…

First off, I was born 9 days late!!!  Apparently the doctor had to induce as I was just being lazy haha!  Now to my mind when you start off life in such a manner, you have no hope of changing.  It becomes a part of your biological make up 🙂

So, in compact form, my life throughout my school years: late for school = detention; late for school = detention; late for assembly = standing up the whole way through it; late for class = sitting outside on the floor for the entire lesson; late for school = detention…and so on and so forth 🙂

Now, I must say I was pretty good by the time it came to university (a number of years later as doing the degree was a ‘more mature’ decision in my life) and was only late for 1 exam, which happened to be quite near the end of my studies.  Luckily I did not get detention and they did give me extra time, probably because they felt sorry for me.  After all, I was pregnant at the time (very pregnant – which makes for a very uncomfortable 2-3hour exam! And yes, I did pass it 🙂 )

Then came work.  Actually I did a lot of work during my studies and prior to commencing said studies so I am not sure why I have put it as an after-the-fact paragraph, never mind!  I was really good with work as well.  I was never late, in fact, very often early in and late out (actually most days it was like that).

Then my daughter started developing her own personality.  I know you’re thinking that it’s strange she didn’t have one before but anyone with a child over 2 will understand (occasionally can occur at a younger age).  A child starts developing their own distinct personality from 2 so those of you who have difficult two-year old’s (ie: those dreaded terrible two’s), good luck to you for it’s unlikely to improve haha!  My own daughter did not fall into the monster category of two-year old’s.  No, she was still a very compliant two-year old but she became increasingly active and independent and she loved climbing and playing and doing lots of other things, all before doing the important things like getting dressed, having breakfast, brushing tiny, delicate teeth, brushing fine, static-prone hair and getting it into some semblance of a style, collecting all necessary items for school and packing in bag and getting myself ready.  And so began the next phase of my late life 🙂

From that day to this my life consists of ensuring my daughter is getting dressed while I get myself dressed, ensuring my daughter is eating breakfast while I am making and packing lunch, ensuring my daughter is brushing her hair and teeth and getting her stuff together for school while I run around finding her bag, ensuring my daughter is getting on her shoes, cardigan and coat (if necessary) and has everything together while I quickly brush my own teeth and hair.  Then, just when we are about to leave, she will remember something she needs or she will decide while I am running around in a flap looking for my own jacket, that she can slip in a quick game of ponies or toys or read a short story.  And that’s just school.  the same goes for getting to church on time (and that can be rather embarrassing), getting to ballet on time and basically getting anywhere of any significance on time.  Now, when I was young and used to be late for school, almost every day, it was a part of my life.  It didn’t actually bother me.  Now, for some bizarre reason, I can’t handle being late.  I actually go into a panicked, mad-woman frenzy and you really don’t want to know me when I am like that!  My daughter , however, is always as calm as you can make her and doesn’t worry about a single thing, especially about being late.  She just gets on with it.  And, of course, the days when we aren’t late – well that’s just bliss for me!

Now, I have to wonder if all those late days when I was in school could have actually been a result of my own relaxed attitude to getting anywhere on time (and possibly my genetic make up).  I have to accept that it is, in fact, possible that my daughter has inherited my own ‘late’ gene and there is nothing I can do to change it.

But I have decided that I will not accept that.  I don’t remember making myself late for school (despite being born late and being late for almost everything) so instead I will lay the blame on my sister and say that my daughter must have picked up some latent gene within the family that affected my sister and my daughter but certainly not myself 🙂

Copyright  ©  070612 by Karen Payze

5 Comments

  1. Self delusion, multi tasking and pathological lateness.

    Yep, womens be mad.

    • cheeky 😉

  2. Thanks for letting me camp out in your blog for a little while. I had a great time and tried to leave my campsite as clean as when I arrived. I’ll be back!

    • Thanks for dropping by, looking forward to your comments 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. To Premix or not to Premix, that is indeed the question « Drawing Room Days

Leave a Reply

