#17 Sitting down to a lovely meal I have not had to cook


Now it is quite apt that this is my simple pleasure for today as I actually had the pleasure of sitting down to a meal I did not cook ๐Ÿ™‚ Talk about good timing (I’m brilliant, I tell you!)

Tonight my husband made supper.ย  So, of course, it was burgers but really nicely done.ย  They had lettuce (rabbit fodder, my dad calls it)underneath the patty and bacon on top of it, which w

as topped of with cheese and sauce.ย  I must say it was really yummy.ย  I’m not big on burgers but the occasional one never hurt anybody (oh, except for those people at the Heart Attack Grill in Las Vegas, Nevada but that was quite extreme!).

Supersize Me !! -- The bypass burger strikes a...

Supersize Me !! — The bypass burger strikes again! … Heart Attack Grill — 23 April 2012 (Las Vegas) .. (Photo credit: marsmet491)

Anyway the point is not that it was a burger that made it a lovely meal but that it was someone else making it.ย  I got a break.ย  Not that I mind cooking.ย  On the contrary, I love to cook and bake.ย  But when you have had a busy day and you’re really tired and your day hasn’t actually ended because you still have a child running around like a maniac, it’s nice when something gets done for you ๐Ÿ™‚ย  And tonight, it was particularly welcome because I really am exhausted.ย  I spent the entire day clearing my tiny garden bed of those horrible long grasses (I don’t know what they are called but they are the ones that give you paper cuts when you cut them – yes I knew you would know what I’m talking about.ย  I’m not going to elaborate further as I think this is a good story for another day ๐Ÿ™‚ ).ย  As they are extremely difficult to clear, it did take an enormous effort on my part and was very tiring!ย  I was immensely pleased, therefore, to discover that my toils were to be rewarded with a break (albeit a short one) and I did relish the break as much as I relished my supper!

Are you one of those people who is lucky enough to have someone cook all of your meals for you?ย  Well, you know what to do.ย  Give them a break.ย  Surprise them.ย  Let them relax for once and make a meal for them.ย  They will appreciate it more than you know!

Copyrightย  ยฉย  290512 by Karen Payze

6 Comments

  1. OMG, that’s like 850 calories. lol. It better be super awesome xD

    • It’s not called the Bypass burger for nothing! Our own burgers are certainly not that heavy weight ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for the comment!

  2. I love food and can fully appreciate good cooking, but I simply cannot be arsed to do it myself.

    A heart attack burger is fine and dandy once in a while. I had a curry tonight and it was great.

    Yay for laziness.

    • Cool ๐Ÿ™‚ Fish and chips for us – and I cooked it ๐Ÿ˜›

  3. Woohoo.. My mom cooks for me ๐Ÿ™‚ And I am grateful for it ๐Ÿ˜› Home cooked meal all the way ๐Ÿ˜€

    • Indeed!

      Thanks for the comment ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

