#14 When a song bird wakes you up in the morning


Copyrighted to Karen Payze

Now, this really is one of life’s simple pleasures and I think what makes it even more of a pleasure is the rarity of the occurrence.

I am having the most marvelous dream (I think everyone should know by now what my marvelous dreams consist of (ref #12) and when I have those dreams, not much will wake me up.ย  I have to say I have a particular aversion to alarm clocks, to such an extent that my brain has filtered them out of existence for me, which means that someone has to wake me up in the morning or I carry on sleeping ๐Ÿ™‚

On those special days, when the birds sound their morning call, I wake up straight away.ย  What a lovely feeling it is.ย  I am always in a good mood on the mornings when the birds wake me up (and that is quite a feat as I usually don’t do mornings very well).ย  There is something about bird song that always conjures up images of spring and baby animals, bouncing around all cute and cuddly that puts a spring into my own steps.

Why do I call it a rare occurrence?ย  Well, in South Africa, it certainly wasn’t.ย  Where we lived, you could hear birds all day every day and I guess I was quite used to it then and most probably did not really appreciate it as being one of life’s simple pleasures as we all are with things that are consistently there in our lives.ย  But England is very different.ย  I’m not saying there are not a lot of birds.ย  There are plenty and some beautiful ones too but because the seasons here are so varied, the birds are not always around.

So with the warm weather lately, early sunrise and sunny days, the birds have really been singing their hearts out.ย  I think they are enjoying the sun as much as the rest of us!ย  So, every day for the last week, it has been early morning bird calls to wake me up ๐Ÿ™‚ย  and, because the weather has been so Topsy Turvy this year – cold then hot then cold again, until now – I think the birds have been sufficiently confused as to retreat into their nests and not sing at all!ย  Which is what makes this current bird song highly pleasurable and as I now appreciate it a lot more than I did in South Africa, it has certainly become one of my simple pleasures ๐Ÿ˜€

And the next time you know you’re going to be woken up by this,

Try turning it off (but don’t blame be if you wake up late :D) and letting the early morning bird song fill your room and dreams – and wake up happy!

Update to this post: The top picture has been replaced with one of my own as I have done with many other pictures and will eventually get round to for all pictures on my blog – copyright and all that.ย 

Anyway, I was privileged to have this little nest RIGHT OUTSIDE MY WINDOW.ย  It was the nest of a little blackbird (a baby from our garden last year) and her FOUR chicks!ย  Unfortunately they have now flown the nest but I feel proud to have been witness to at least a small part of this miracle that is life ๐Ÿ™‚ย 

Sorry for the poor quality of the picture but it is rather hard to get a good picture of a next in the branches of a dense shrub when you’re using your phone’s camera ๐Ÿ™‚

Copyrightย  ยฉย  260512 by Karen Payze

7 Comments

  1. We have mockingbirds here in western NC, and hearing one right outside the open bedroom window is one of my greatest joys on a spring morning. I too have hated alarm clocks ever since the time when I was soundly sleeping at college, heard my clock go off, hit the button…repeatedly!!…it didn’t stop. I got up and unplugged the thing. It didn’t stop!!!
    Was a fire drill.

    • haha that must have been the worst wake up call ever! Glad I’ve never been woken up like that!

      Thanks for your comment ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. You are right it can be quite pleasant actually.

    I used to sometimes get woken up by the squeaky brakes of a car owned by someone across the road from me.

    • Haha I would have thrown something at them ๐Ÿ™‚

Trackbacks

  1. #15 When you can sleep in « Drawing Room Days
  2. #21 Noticing that the seeds I planted ages ago have started to grow and are not duds after all « Drawing Room Days
  3. The Road to Happiness – part one « Drawing Room Days

Leave a Reply

