#7 Watching my daughter enjoy the simple things in life


Copyrighted to Karen Payze

What is it with young children?  They always seem to find the greatest pleasures in the simplest of things! Right from the start of life where they enjoy the box the toy came in more than the toy itself (I’m sure most parents can relate to this!).

My daughter loves anything from nature.  It can take us a long time to get through a short walk as she stops every couple of minutes to study something, sometimes pick it up, and always enjoy it.

A list, then of some of the simple things that my child enjoys:

  1. Blowing the seeds off a dandelion.  I don’t particularly like these weeds myself as I get severe allergies from the fluffy little seed pods but I do enjoy watching my daughter picking one and blowing it so the seeds fly away into sky.  The look on her face, pure concentration and then loads of giggles and jumping around trying to catch the little bits of fluff floating around her, which brings me to the next one as it runs along similar lines

  2. Blowing bubbles.  There seems to be not greater joy in the world for a child than running around wildly trying to catch bubbles, especially after they were the ones blowing said bubbles and all the jumping around causes the bubble stuff to splash all over the place.  Quite a messy affair, this blowing bubbles thing, but enormously enjoyable nevertheless!

  3. Eating candy floss.  My daughter loves fairs.  Not for the rides (which she certainly does enjoy) or the stalls (which don’t interest her as much) but rather because for her a fair means candy floss.  If she had her own way she would most probably choose the candy floss on the stick but I am very persuasive so she always gets the candy floss in a bag instead.  Its less messy and tends to last longer.  She loves pulling of large chunks of the stuff, jamming it into her mouth and letting it melt away on her tongue.  The sticky fingers, face and, indeed, hair, is a minor inconvenience when compared to the enormity of the pleasure gained from this simple snack.

  4. Collecting bits of nature.  This is one of my daughter’s favourite activities and, as I said early, can make a short walk into a very long one.  She usually finds stones of interesting shapes and colours.  She can study a stone for hours, absorbing every chip, crack, defining line, colour and pattern of a stone.  I have given her a nature box and she places all collected items into said box.  When the box is full, she empties it out and starts fresh.  She also loves collecting leaves.  Leaves of different sizes, shapes, colours and textures.  As with the stones, she can study them for hours.

  5. Drawing or making crafts.  Drawing is a wonderful activity for all children, regardless of whether or not your child has any kind of artistic ability.  It does not matter if your child can draw better than Michelangelo or if he/she merely scribbles and splats a bunch of random things on a page.  Arts and crafts can help a child relax.  It is also good at aiding in their concentration and stimulating their creativity.  I’m not saying you should force a child to do something arty if they don’t want to but at least give them that option.  My daughter spends a lot of time drawing or making things.  She has a wonderful imagination.  I love to sit and watch her at play as everything she does develops into a story.  It really is quite fascinating to see how she thinks and feels about things.

There are many more things that my daughter enjoys, too many to mention but I think the above are probably the more common ones, that most children would do or want to do.

And, if you really want to feel like a kid again, try enjoying some of those simple things that they enjoy.  Go outside on a hot day, buy an ice cream in a cone from the ice cream van, sit in the long grass of a meadow, take your shoes off and have a very happy day!

Copyright  ©  180512 by Karen Payze

5 Comments

  1. Those are some of the pleasures I recall enjoying as a young kid. Thanks for reminding me of carefree days with my grandmother Mawie babysitting me.

    • You’re very welcome! I’m glad you enjoyed the post 🙂

      Thank you for your comment!

      – Karen

  2. Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wished to say that I have really enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. After all I will be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again soon!

    • Thanks for your comment!

  3. Of course, what a fantastic blog and revealing posts, I definitely will bookmark your blog.All the Best!

Leave a Reply

