#4 A long, hot bubble bath


This has to be my favourite of all the simple pleasures I enjoy.

Now I know bubble baths can be very romantic, especially when shared with someone 🙂 but that is not how I enjoy my bubble baths.  Why?  Because my bath is my sanctuary.

We all have that place we escape to, to be alone, relax, have some peace and quiet and to

 

As a mum, (with not too many places I can escape to) for me that place is my bath, my sanctuary.

My bubble bath has to be filled just right.  The water must be very hot – and I know that’s seriously bad for you 😛  – and filled to about halfway, it cannot be any deeper than that because of the amount of bubble bath I throw into it.  I need LOTS of bubbles and they need to fill the rest of the bath, right to the very lip and almost overflowing.

I close the door early so the room can fill with steam – all part of the fantasy 🙂 Then carefully slide down into the bubbles.  Ahh pure bliss!  I rest my head against the side of the bath and close my eyes.  I can lie there for ages, daydreaming.  Because I am so relaxed in this situation, it is the place where new ideas for writing usually come to me.  Unlike the haziness surrounding me, images in my mind’s eye are clear and vivid.  I can run through entire stories.  Sometimes I sink down until my head is almost completely submerged, only my nose sticking out (which does not mean I have a big nose, rather I have perfected the art of bubble floating!).

I only get out when the water starts making bumps on my skin as the heat has long since evaporated but if I’m having a particularly useful daydream, I will turn on the hot tap and add some more hot water.  After all it would be a real shame to allow those lovely bubbles to vanish down the plughole!

When I eventually pull myself together and return to reality, I rush to write down my thoughts, ideas and daydreams, even a quick sketch if necessary.  I know if I don’t do that then, like many of my dreams, they quickly fade, never to be recovered!

So, if you are having a particularly difficult day today, go home, run a steamy hot bubble bath and take some time out.  I guarantee you will feel much better at the end of it!

Copyright  ©  150512 by Karen Payze

7 Comments

  1. I totally agree with you! Sometimes, it’s just that few minutes of peace and hot steamy water around you that makes you feel so refreshed 🙂

    I’m a new follower of your blog now, do drop by mine @ bookaworld.wordpress.com too!

    -Alicia
    bookaworld.wordpress.com

    • Thank you for the comment and the follow! And yes, gotta love those moments you get to yourself (so few and far between haha)
      Will check out your blog now!
      – Karen

  2. I love bubble baths. I even have a website dedicated to my love for them haha.

    • Yes bubbles baths are one of the best things to have, especially after a long day 🙂 Thanks for your comment 🙂

  3. Bubble baths are incredibly romantic. Love the feel of bubbles on my skin and when you get out of the tub, you just feel silky soft.

    • They are indeed 🙂 I can spend hours in the bath. Love it! thanks for the comment 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Bathtime Fun | Drawing Room Days

Leave a Reply

