My favourite sketches


This is just a quick post to show you my two favourite sketches. It has taken me a while to get these as I had given them to my folks some time ago.  Because they still live in South Africa, it would be rather difficult for me to pop over and fetch them so I had to request that they could be scanned and emailed. Somehow, I managed to delete the email the first TWO times my dad sent it – the joys of smart phones haha!

Anyway, I finally have them, so without further ado, here they are. (You can click on them to see a larger size 🙂 )

Copyright © by Karen Payze

The first one, above, was my very first attempt at sketching a painting.  I cannot remember who the artist of the painting was or, indeed, where it was painted (I think maybe, possibly, Italy, but don’t quote me on it 🙂 )  I was very proud of my effort.

Copyright © by Karen Payze

The second one, above, is a sketch of St Francis Catholic Church in rural Underberg (the foothills of the Drakensberg Mountains) in KwaZulu Natal, South Africa.  I absolutely love the Berg.  It was always my favourite place to go on holiday.  I will post some photographs of our time in the Berg (when I find them).  We found this church on one our holidays, off a dirt road, in the middle of nowhere.  I loved it as soon as I saw it.  It was so simple, plain and unassuming.  It’s location, surrounded by thick, leafy bush and trees, with the Underberg mountains as its back drop.  Just a beautiful place and every time I look at it, it brings back such wonderful memories.  I am currently writing a short story based on this very sketch but won’t be posting it here as I want to send it to a writing competition.  Will let you know when it’s done and you can go check it out 🙂

I hope you enjoyed viewing these sketches at least as much as I enjoyed creating them!

Copyright  ©  250412 by Karen Payze

7 Comments

  1. chrispink

    Karen, I liked this much! And yes, the joy of smart phones…grr!

    • thanks, nowhere near your talent though 🙂 And yesterday I thought smartphones were a pain, today I spent the ENTIRE DAY sorting out my laptop. Starting to think its not the gadgets but me that’s the problem…

      • chrispink

        Hey, everyone has their thing. I have Dyscalculia, which means I literally cannot do Maths. The technology issue sounds horribly familiar; don’t worry, I bet it’s not you, I’m sure it’s not!

        • hm i don’t know, things do tend to break around me hahaha

          • chrispink

            but not smiles I bet! hahaha, that was truly terrible I know…!

            • that was bad… but I still laughed so job done 😀 Big smile for you

Trackbacks

  1. #18 Sketching something and thinking afterwards: wow that really does look good! « Drawing Room Days

Leave a Reply

