Being grateful


Well, it’s that time of year again, where New Years’ Resolutions abound.  Blog after Blog, Facebook page after Facebook page, spatterings on Pinterest, etc, etc…Always the same old stuff:  lose weight, drink less, be nicer…

I am not doing New Years Resolutions this year because I do them every year and they never work out.  But I do want to do something that reminds me of a year gone by and a new year to come.  It seems a lot of people had a rather cruddy 2013 with varying gripes and groans.  I had a few of my own:

  • Missing my folks who I haven’t seen once in 2013 – and times like christmas can be hard. – In fact I have only seen them a handful of times in the five years I have lived in England.
  • Having a hard time adjusting to certain societal norms that are different to those in South Africa.
  • Dealing with nasty people.
  • Wondering why I bother with certain distant family members and certain distant friends who don’t bother with me – and of course getting myself worked up and hurt over it (hey – I am a Libran, it’s my nature :P)
  • Having real run-off-your-feet busy days.
  • Having writer’s block for almost a year.
  • And, of course, attending the WORST interview of my entire life!

But then I must think to myself that, on the whole, my year wasn’t horrible and awful and I have actually had far worse.  So Instead of grumbling about the year gone past and being eternally grateful for it to be over, I am going to list what I am grateful for.  After all, it is a new year and it’s far better to start off a new year on a positive note than to remember all the shit days long gone.

So what am I grateful for?

  • I am grateful that I am able to live in a country where I feel safe.
  • I am grateful that I am able to ‘see’ my folks through Skype.
  • I am grateful that I have a loving husband and a wonderful daughter.
  • I am grateful for nasty people as it makes me appreciate my few steadfast, wonderful friends.
  • I am grateful for busy days which are far better than long, long boring days.
  • I am grateful that my year of writer’s block has been lifted.
  • I am grateful that I survived the worst interview ever as it means I can survive any other one that may come my way.

And, if I must have a new years resolution, it will be to forget about those who have forgotten about me and remember those who really care.

So what am I looking forward to in 2014?

Well, it is the year of the horse and my chinese zodiac sign is the horse.  So it should really be a great year for me.  And I am looking forward to it all:  the good AND the bad.

Copyright © 040114 by Karen Payze

Enhanced by Zemanta

6 Comments

  1. Love this post…thank you :)

    • Thank you :)

  2. This a jolly thoughtful and reflective post.

    All the best for 2014.

    • Thanks and to you too xx

  3. There should be a star to the right of Excellent, for this one is Superb. While my so-called birth sign isn’t Libra, I lean heavily in that direction, and every point you made–pro and con–set off little bells in my mind. The Year of the Horse–I wasn’t aware until you pointed it out–but I embrace that, having always had horse images calling to me. Horses play a pivotal part in my Cordero saga, from page one til the final page, though while I was writing the novels the book-end effect wasn’t apparent. Thanks for making my day/year!

    • Ah, you’re very welcome! I must read your story, sounds brill! And all the best for 2014 Xx

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 540 other followers

