The comment #hashtag


The use of hashtags in Facebook (and indeed Twitter – the home of the #) is becoming more common place and I have to ask myself WHY?

Why do we need to hashtag everything we say so that our comments can become part of a global LOOK AT ME I AM TALKING craze that sucks people in so quickly that after they have made their first hashtag comment, they absolutely HAVE TO make another and another and another until they become fully submersed in the world of the OCD hashtag commenter.  And yes, it does bother me.  It bothers me to read posts that are prefixed with hashtags, where an individual obviously feels that what they have to say is so important it should be part of a global community of other self-important individuals who do the #hashtag!

Now obviously this rant is not pointed towards those who occasionally use a hashtag to emphasise a comment but rather to those who use said hashtag to emphasise every single one of their comments.  And they feel this absolute necessity for expressing their opinions in hashtags. Although I must point out here that once you start, it is extremely difficult to stop, or that is what my eyes have led me to believe!

There is #nothingworse than reading a person’s posts where every one of them has at least one hashtag comment.

The worst of these (on Twitter at least) are authors into #selfpromotion and the vast array of hashtags used.  Now don’t get me wrong, I’m all for author self-promotion.  After all, in this day and age, you have to do what you can to get noticed as an author because there are so many authors out there.  But it can get a bit much when I open Twitter and my feed consists of:

On Facebook it’s people who are self-important and want you to know that they either had a bad day at #theshittiestjobintheworld or are enjoying a #greatevening with #goodcompany.

Even worse is Facebook’s new feelings thingy in the comments.  Why do I want to know that people are:

feeling happy

feeling Proud

feeling exhausted but satisfied

feeling annoyed

All that does is prompt me to express my own feelings of vex:)

Okay, I know what you’re going to say to this: don’t read it.  Well, that’s easier said than done considering these things are like a rolling dialogue on my Facebook page.  So, hide it:  I do :) but I still have to read it first before I can hide it, there is no auto hide option of Facebook (well none that I know of).  Okay, remove that person.  I would love to but sometimes that’s easier said than done.  Besides, what would I have to #complainabout then?

Ah well, rant over.  Please don’t feel offended by my posts.  They are only #myopinion after all :)

What do you think of #hashtags?  Let me know in the comments below!

Copyright © 250713 by Karen Payze

4 Comments

  1. This one deserves a 6th star above excellent. I totally agree, and to my knowledge have never used a hashtag and most of the time don’t know where I’m supposed to be directed by it. The How Are You Feeling icon I remember from the Dark Ages of My Space…a place I haven’t been in dog’s years though I’m sure I must still have a Presence there because the method of getting away from them involved posting a video (something I didn ‘t know then how to do, nor did I have the software for doing it) of myself holding a sign proclaiming that I was cancelling my account. The thing Facebook does that MOST irritates me is that right-hand column of revolving ads that often positions my screen/cursor to Like something above the thing I really want to Like. Have to be careful on that one, or end up “liking” something I absolutely detest!

    • Thank you xx

      Oh yes, I have done that like bit too, often without realising it then wonder why I am getting a feed on my page from some random page! And every so often have to go through my likes page to unlike a batch of random pages :)

  2. Social media: the bane of modern life.

    • Indeed – and yet we all still ‘need’ it ;P

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 540 other followers

